women’s T20-Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham

Cricket will be making its commonwealth games 2022 debut in Birmingham with the women’s T20 format. This is the first time that the shortest and fastest version of the game will feature at a Commonwealth Games.

women’s T20-Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham

Men’s cricket made its Commonwealth Games debut in 1998 with a 50-over tournament which included 16 teams. South Africa won the gold medal in this competition.


The commonwealth games 2022 cricket tournament will see India compete against eight teams, including Australia and Pakistan. The eight nations have been divided into two groups of four and the top two from each group will qualify for the semi-final.

india women cricket team in commonwealth game 2022

India are the defending champions of the cricket tournament and look strong enough to challenge any team. The Women in Blue will start their campaign with a match against Australia on July 29 at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground. They will then face Pakistan on July 31, and Barbados on August 3.


The Australian women’s cricket team are one of the big favourites to win gold in Birmingham 2022. They have a strong record against their rivals and will be keen to add the first Commonwealth Games title in T20 cricket to their ODI and T20 World Cup victories.

The competition will be played in two groups of four with each team playing the other teams in its group once. The top two teams in each group advance to the semi-finals. The bottom two are eliminated.


Pakistan will participate in the Commonwealth Games 2022 with around 5000 athletes from 72 nations and territories. They will take part in athletics, badminton, boxing, cricket (women), hockey, gymnastics, judo, swimming, table tennis and weightlifting.

The national women’s cricket team lost their opening pool match against Barbados. Despite registering a half-century by Nida Dar, the green shirts could not make any progress in their innings.

Then, they faced arch-rival India and lost by eight wickets. India scored a total of 161 runs in their innings, and Pakistan could not keep up with it.


Barbados will make its first-ever appearance in a women’s international T20 match at the commonwealth games 2022 cricket tournament. It will be captained by Hayley Matthews, also the captain of the West Indies, and features all-rounder Deandra Dottin.

The ICC had announced that England automatically qualified for the 2022 CWG and then followed it up with the top-six sides according to their ICC Women’s T20I team rankings as of April 1, 2021, as well as the winner of a qualifying tournament. West Indies were direct qualifiers, but this was not enough for them to take part in the event.


The commonwealth games 2022 cricket tournament will see England take on seven other teams. They will play all of their group stage and playoff fixtures at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The Commonwealth Games have been around since 1998 and are a global event that brings together people from across the world. They also bring together many different sports, which can be very exciting to watch.

Cricket was first introduced to the Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in 1998. At that time, it was a men’s 50-over competition. It’s been a while but it will make its return this year in Birmingham, where it will be played in a T20 format.

New Zealand

New Zealand will start the commonwealth games 2022 cricket tournament against South Africa. The White Ferns have never lost to the hosts but will need to beat them in their opening group match at Edgbaston in Birmingham to secure a spot in the semifinals and a chance of a medal.

Ahead of the tournament, NZ Cricket handed out central contracts to several players. They include uncapped Eden Carson, Izzy Gaze and Jess McFadyen, but no deals were given to the likes of Fran Jonas or Leigh Kasperek.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka will compete in the commonwealth games 2022 cricket tournament which will be held in Birmingham, England from 28 July to 8 August. The tournament will be played in the twenty20 format and will have eight teams.

The team will play its opening match against England on 30th July. They will also face New Zealand, South Africa and Barbados in their group.

They will be led by the experienced Chamari Athapaththu who has captained the side more than 50 times in T20Is. She will be supported by her teammates who include Inoka Ranaweera, Kavisha Dilhari and Udeshika Prabodhani.