India vs South Africa T20I

India vs South Africa-2nd T20I: Klaasen, Miller defeat India by 4 wickets, go 2-0 up in series

Highlights of 2022 T20I series for India vs South Africa

Despite Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s amazing performance of 4 for 13, Heinrich Klaasen’s aggressive 81 made it a walk in the park for the Proteas as they knocked off the runs in 18.2 overs.

Brief Scores:

India 148/6–
Shreyas Iyer 40
Dinesh Karthik 30 not out
Ishan Kishan 34
Anrich Nortje 2/36
Kagiso Rabada 1/15

South Africa 149/2 in 18.2 overs–
Heinrich Klaasen 81
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4/13

India vs South Africa T20I

Heinrich Klaasen’s aggressive 81 helped South Africa make a 149-run target. Eventually, South Africa beat India by four wickets in the second T20I at Cuttack, Odisha.

Because of the win, the Proteas also gained a 2-0 lead in the five-match T20I series. Temba Bavuma kept the scoreboard ticking with 35 off 30 balls, especially after Bhuvneshwar’s triple-strike derailed the Proteas in the powerplay.

With nice batting in the beginning, the Indian camp endured regular blows to slump to 98 for five on a tacky surface. Ishan Kishan hit an attacking 34 and Shreyas gathered 40. However, they both failed to convert their starts into a big score.

Axar Patel then perished for 10, leaving India tottering at 112/6. Kagiso Rabada led a disciplined bowling attack as South Africa kept India’s scoring rate under control. Left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj sent back Pant in his first over and soon Hardik Pandya’s wicket off Wayne Parnell made India slip further.

In the end of the match, Karthik created an attack in the final two overs and put on an unbeaten 36-run stand with Harshal Patel, who made 12.

During the match, South Africa made two forced changes, with Heinrich Klaasen and Reeza Hendricks replacing Quinton de Kock and Tristan Stubbs respectively. In comparison, India went with an unchanged XI from the beginning to the end.

The next match of this series will be on 14 of June, Visakhapatnam.