t20i-2022 india vs south africa

India vs South Africa-1st T20I Result:SA Won by 7 Wickets

Result 1st T20I-India vs South Africa

  • South Africa beat India by 7 wickets
  • David Miller – 64
  • Rassie van der Dussen – 61


David Miller and Rassie van der Dussen hit fiery half-centuries to guide South Africa to a seven-wicket win over India in the first T20 International of the five-match series on Thursday.

Chasing a mammoth 212, Miller (64 not out) and Van der Dussen (75 not out)shared an unbeaten 131-run stand for the fourth wicket to take the visitors home with consummate ease. For India, Axar Patel (1/40), Bhuveneshwar Kumar (1/43) and Harshal Patel (1/43) scalped one wicket apiece.

Van der Dussen, who was dropped on 29 by Shreyas Iyer, scored an unbeaten 75 off 46 balls. His partner Miller scored 64* off 31 balls. With this win, the tourists have taken a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.

Earlier, Ishan Kishan smashed 76 off 48 balls to power India to 211/4 against South Africa in the first T20 International on Thursday.

The hosts, who were invited to bat first, got off to a strong start with Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad adding a 50-plus stand. Gaikwad was dismissed on 23 (15). The show continued with Kishan dominating the proceedings alongside Shreyas Iyer, who scored 36 off 27 balls. Captain Rishabh Pant chipped in with a 16-ball 29, while Hardik Pandya returned unbeaten on 31 in just 12 balls.

Playing XI for India & South Africa

India (Playing XI)

Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan

South Africa (Playing XI)

Quinton de Kock(w), Temba Bavuma(c), Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje